Blurbs, Blehs, and Blargs

Paraphrasing is hard.

Writing a book-blurb, which sounds like it should be easy, is not. I’ve already covered how I just want to say it’s about things, but somehow I feel that’s a bit too vague. The worst part is I keep reading the first sentence over and over that now I’ve started to despise it:

Logtar Pantsonfire is a halfling who has stolen a rather dull-looking green pendant.

I’ve been reading the blurbs of some of my favourite books, or books that I’ve heard are good. I really like the one for Neil Gaiman’s American Gods. But when you have characters named Shadow and Wednesday, how can you resist? In fact, I’ll write the blurb for that right now in 10 words or less.

Shadow was in prison. Later meets guy named Wednesday. Intense.

Steph suggested to just share a synopsis of the first two chapters and leave the rest as a cliffhanger. The Scott Pilgrim books are kind of like that. Their descriptions include a lot of questions. When I do it, it sounds like the end of old-school Batman. Same Logtar-time; Same Logtar-book.

The trickiest part is that I want to capture the tone of the book in the description. I have a bit more pages to draw that out in the story compared to the paragraph or two someone is willing to read to see if they’re interested in reading 400+ pages.

So – there you have it – paraphrasing is hard.

Leave a Reply

